81.8 F
74.8 F
78.1 F
63.8 F

Monday Morning Quarterback Club announces recipients of Nick Saban Legacy Award

The recipients of the Birmingham Monday Morning Quarterback Club’s inaugural Nick Saban Legacy Award in College Football Coaching are two legendary names from the gridiron.

One of the recipients is famed SEC head football coach and Heisman Trophy winner Steve Spurrier, who led football programs at Duke University, the University of Florida and the University of South Carolina.

Spurrier led Florida, his alma mater, to its first national championship win in 1996 and claimed six SEC championships, clinching the SEC Eastern Division eight times. He was named ACC Coach of the Year twice and SEC Coach of the Year seven times. He holds a college head coaching record of 217-79.

Former Grambling State University head football coach Eddie Robinson will also be a recipient of the prestigious award. At the helm for a total of 56 years, Robinson compiled a record of 408-165-15, which places him third in all-time wins among college football head coaches. The Grambling football facility was named in is honor, and in 2010, the Eddie G. Robinson Museum opened on the campus.

The legacy awards will be presented Monday evening, May 2, in Birmingham by the Monday Morning Quarterback Club, the Quarterbacking Children’s Health Foundation and University of Alabama head football coach Nick Saban.

Co-hosts for the event are CBS college football analyst Rick Neuheisel and ESPN sportscaster Lauren Sisler.

The event will take place at The Club (1 Robert S. Smith Drive, Birmingham, AL 35209) beginning at 4:30 p.m. The awards presentation will begin promptly at 6:00 p.m. Tickets to the event may be purchased here.

Dylan Smith is a staff writer for Yellowhammer News. You can follow him on Twitter @DylanSmithAL

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.