82.5 F
81.8 F
88.4 F
76.4 F

Lawmakers chosen for redistricting process

State lawmakers are gearing up for a special session to redraw the state’s congressional districts after the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the current map violates the Voting Rights Act. 

A three-judge federal district court ordered the Legislature to pass a new congressional district map by July 21. If the Legislature fails to meet this deadline, the court’s experts will draft a new map for Alabama’s 2024 congressional elections.

Gov. Kay Ivey is expected to call the special session during the week of July 17. 

Attorneys representing the Legislature and Attorney General Steve Marshall are discussing the criteria needed for the new map to receive court approval. 

The court has ordered the state’s attorneys to provide status reports on July 7 and 14, and report whether the Legislature has approved a new map by July 21.

If the Legislature meets the deadline, plaintiffs will have until July 28 to file objections, and the state’s lawyers must respond by Aug. 4. A hearing will begin Aug. 14, if necessary.

The Permanent Legislative Committee on Reapportionment will be responsible for preliminary approval of the map before it reaches the full Legislature. 

State senators appointed by Lt. Gov. Will Ainsworth:

  • Sen. Vivian Figures, First Congressional District
  • Sen. Will Barfoot, Second Congressional District
  • Sen. Lance Bell, Third Congressional District
  • Sen. Clay Scofield, Fourth Congressional District
  • Sen. Steve Livingston, Fifth Congressional District (Co-Chair)
  • Sen. Dan Roberts, Sixth Congressional District
  • Sen. Bobby Singleton, Seventh Congressional District
  • Sen. Arthur Orr, At-Large Position
  • Sen. Jack Williams, At-Large Position
  • Sen. Rodger Smitherman, At-Large Position
  • Sen. Donnie Chesteen, At-Large Position

Speaker Nathaniel Ledbetter appointed the following House members:

  • Rep. Cynthia Almond (R-Tuscaloosa)
  • Rep. Barbara Boyd (D-Anniston)
  • Rep. Jim Carns (R-Birmingham)
  • Rep. Steve Clouse (R-Ozark)
  • Rep. Corley Ellis (R-Columbiana)
  • Rep. Chris England (D-Tuscaloosa)
  • Rep. Laura Hall (D-Huntsville)
  • Rep. Sam Jones (D-Mobile)
  • Rep. Joe Lovvorn (R-Auburn)
  • Rep. Chris Pringle (R-Mobile)
  • Rep. Rex Reynolds (R-Huntsville)

Secretary of State Wes Allen said a new map must be in place by Oct.1 to conduct the 2024 congressional elections. The court’s ruling was a response to lawsuits filed by three groups, named after the lead plaintiffs: the Milligan case, the Caster case, and the Singleton case.

Updates on public hearings and committee meetings will be posted on the Alabama Legislature’s website.

Grayson Everett is a staff writer for Yellowhammer News. You can follow him on Twitter @Grayson270

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.