81.1 F
80.6 F
81.1 F
81.1 F

‘The gentleman from Jasper’: Greg Reed unanimously elected, sworn in as Alabama Senate president pro tem

MONTGOMERY — State Senator Greg Reed (R-Jasper) on Tuesday was elected by his colleagues to serve as president pro tempore of the Alabama Legislature’s upper chamber.

The pro tem is the highest ranking senator in the body; while the lieutenant governor presides over the chamber, the pro tem is widely viewed as the most powerful position in the Senate, having a large influence over its agenda and operations.

The vote was 31-0, following a nomination made by Rules Committee Chairman Jabo Waggoner (R-Vestavia) and seconded by Minority Leader Bobby Singleton (D-Greensboro). Reed was then sworn in on the floor by Chief Justice Tom Parker.

Reed succeeds State Senator Del Marsh (R-Anniston) as pro tem. Marsh decided to step aside from the leadership position for the final two years of the current quadrennium. He has also announced he will not seek reelection in 2022, however Marsh is still set to play a major role in spearheading several important pieces of legislation this session.

Reed’s ascension as pro tem was all but assured in December when the Senate GOP Caucus unanimously nominated him to succeed Marsh. Reed had served as majority leader in the body since 2014. He has served in the Senate since being elected in 2010.

Tuesday’s vote came after the Alabama Legislature gaveled in at 12:00 p.m. to begin its 2021 regular session. Marsh formally resigned as pro tem at 12:34 p.m.

The State of the State will be delivered virtually by Governor Kay Ivey at 6:30 p.m. on Tuesday; Yellowhammer News will carry a livestream of the address at that time.

Sean Ross is the editor of Yellowhammer News. You can follow him on Twitter @sean_yhn

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.