74.3 F
73 F
74.9 F
56.6 F

In wake of drought, Tuberville urges ag producers to seek disaster assistance

As a member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, Sen. Tommy Tuberville has made it a priority to advocate for Alabama’s crop and livestock producers.

Now, he is encouraging the state’s producers to apply for access to USDA emergency loan and disaster assistance programs to blunt the financial impact of the drought affecting much of Alabama.

“Farmers and producers are the backbone of Alabama’s economy,” Tuberville (R-Auburn) said. “Unfortunately, many are struggling in the face of a severe drought this year. I encourage our affected growers and producers to take advantage of these USDA programs.

“We have to make sure our farmers have the resources they need to continue growing our nation’s food and fibers.”

According to the USDA, 26 counties are eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency emergency loan assistance and agricultural disaster assistance programs because they have been classified as either having D2 conditions (severe drought) or D3 conditions (extreme drought).

The counties are: Butler, Cherokee, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Madison, Marshall, Morgan, Blount, Calhoun, Cleburne, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Etowah, Lawrence, Limestone, Lowndes, Marion, Monroe, Walker, Wilcox, and Winston.

Congress gave permanent authorization and funding for multiple agricultural disaster assistance programs under USDA FSA, including the Livestock Forage Disaster Program and the Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees, and Farm-Raised Fish Program, found in the 2014 Farm Bill.

Austen Shipley is a staff writer for Yellowhammer News.

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.