73.9 F
62.2 F
68.3 F
64 F

Jimmy Parnell re-elected as Alabama Farmers Federation president

Chilton County farmer Jimmy Parnell was re-elected to a fourth term as president of the Alabama Farmers Federation at the organization’s 97th annual meeting in Montgomery on Monday.

Parnell was first elected in 2012. He is a fifth-generation beef cattle farmer and partner in a family logging business. The Stanton native thanked the voting delegates for the opportunity to serve the Federation’s 350,000 members and lead the affiliated Alfa Insurance.

“I’m convinced we serve some of the best people in Alabama,” Parnell, 54, said in a release. “Farmers built this country and have the values which make our communities, state and nation strong. It’s an honor to work alongside people who are dedicated to making things better for our members and policyholders.”

Elections were held during the Federation’s business session in which almost 500 farmer delegates from all 67 counties chose officers and directors for the state’s largest farm organization.

Parnell was chairman of the Federation’s State Young Farmers Committee in 1997, served on the Federation’s State Board of Directors from 1999-2008 and was Chilton County Farmers Federation president from 2006-2012. He was unopposed in his bid for re-election.

Parnell has been a fixture on Yellowhammer Multimedia’s annual Power and Influence List, including this year’s edition.

North Area Vice President Rex Vaughn of Huntsville in Madison County and Southeast Area Vice President George Jeffcoat of Gordon in Houston County also were re-elected for two-year terms. Both are row crop and beef cattle farmers.

Vaughn’s North Area covers Blount, Cherokee, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan and Winston counties.

The Southeast Area, represented by Jeffcoat, includes Barbour, Bullock, Chambers, Coffee, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Elmore, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lee, Macon, Pike, Russell and Tallapoosa counties.

Additionally, four district directors were elected to three-year terms. Each director can serve three consecutive terms.

Brian Glenn, a row crop farmer from Lawrence County, was re-elected as District 1 director. The district includes Colbert, Franklin, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Marion and Walker counties. This will be his third term.

Tim Whitley, a cattle farmer from Blount County, was elected to the District 4 seat previously held by Rickey Cornutt of Marshall County. The District 4 director seat rotates among Blount, Cullman, Marshall and Winston counties.

Meanwhile, Elmore County produce farmer and grist mill owner Joe Lambrecht was re-elected to the District 7 seat representing Chambers, Coosa, Elmore, Lee, Macon, Russell and Tallapoosa counties. This will be his second term.

Pike County poultry farmer and county Federation President Steve Stroud was re-elected to a second term in the District 10 board seat. That district includes Barbour, Bullock, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw and Pike counties.

Elected to one-year ex-officio terms on the state board were State Women’s Leadership Committee Chairman Jo Ann Laney of Russell County and State Young Farmers Committee Chairman Garrett Dixon of Lee County.

Sean Ross is a staff writer for Yellowhammer News. You can follow him on Twitter @sean_yhn