73.8 F
63.4 F
63.7 F
43.8 F

Britt, Tuberville join ‘No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act’

U.S. Sens. Katie Britt and Tommy Tuberville were joined by 45 other senators in introducing the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act. This legislation would establish a single, government-wide standard to permanently prohibit the flow of federal funding for abortion.

According to Britt’s office, an inconsistent and haphazard set of policies has regulated federal funding for abortion for more than 40 years. This legislation would make permanent the restrictions on funding for elective abortion and elective abortion coverage, including the Hyde Amendment, which currently rely on yearly approval.

“The Hyde Amendment has saved an estimated 2.5 million lives – approximately half the population of Alabama,” said Britt (R-Montgomery). “Sadly, radicals in the Democratic Party continue to trumpet their calls for abortion at any time, for any reason. They have now targeted the long-standing, bipartisan Hyde Amendment, annually passed by Congress since 1976, which ensures federal taxpayer dollars are not used to fund abortions. It is time to make the Hyde Amendment and its lifesaving protections permanent so the far-left does not attempt to hold the nation hostage every year.

“The vast majority of Alabamians do not want their hard-earned dollars funding elective abortions in California or New York. I will continue to fight to defend life, support parents, grow opportunities for hardworking families, and preserve the American Dream for our children and our children’s children.”

The legislation would also eliminate Obamacare’s taxpayer subsidies for elective abortion coverage on the Affordable Care Act exchanges through refundable tax credits.

Britt and Tuberville (R-Auburn) were joined by Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Senate Minority Whip John Thune (R-S.D.), and Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), John Kennedy (R-La.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Rand Paul (R-Ky)., Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), , J.D. Vance (R-Ohio), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), and Todd Young (R-Ind).

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.