46 F
32.7 F
37.8 F
25.1 F

Yellowhammer set to honor Bill Poole with 2021 Power of Service Award

Yellowhammer Multimedia on Monday announced it will present this year’s Power of Service Award to State Rep. Bill Poole (R-Tuscaloosa). Yellowhammer will present the award at its annual Power of Service event set to take place on May 19 in Montgomery.

Yellowhammer is honoring Poole in recognition of his outstanding service to the state of Alabama. As chairman of the House Ways and Means Education Committee, he is in charge of the $7.7 billion education budget for his chamber.

“We are excited to honor Bill Poole for his exemplary work to make Alabama the best possible place to live, work and raise a family,” said Sean Ross, editor-in-chief of Yellowhammer News. “His stalwart leadership as chair of the House Ways and Means Education Committee continues to pay dividends for generations to come, as well as the future of our state. Whether it be pre-k, k-12, higher education or workforce training initiatives, his impact on education in Alabama is only matched by his own forward-thinking efforts to advance the state’s innovation and tech ecosystem. Undoubtedly, Bill Poole is at the forefront of building an equitable, 21st century economy in which all Alabamians can thrive. Our state is immeasurably better because of his continued leadership and service.”

In addition to an active law practice and his service in the Alabama House of Representatives, Poole currently chairs the Alabama Innovation Commission, a statewide commission on entrepreneurship, innovation and technology. He is also a member of the State Service Commission, a governor-appointed board leading the Yellowhammer State’s philanthropic and service movement.

Poole was first elected to the House in 2010. He is involved in numerous community organizations, including the West Alabama Chamber of Commerce and as a member of the Board of Directors for the Boys and Girls Club of West Alabama. He is a graduate of the University of Alabama and the University of Alabama School of Law.

This is the sixth year that Yellowhammer has presented the Power of Service Award. Past recipients include Johnny Johns, Sen. Del Marsh, Jimmy Rane, Sen. Jabo Waggoner, Congressman Gary Palmer, Mark Crosswhite, Swaid Swaid, Speaker Mac McCutcheon and Horace Horn.

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.