77.9 F
73.1 F
72.4 F
52.9 F

State delegation: GOP ‘united’ behind McCarthy

After 15 ballots over four days in the U.S. House of Representatives, Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) was finally elected as Speaker of the House late Friday.

While the process included some heated moments, including Rep. Mike Rogers’ (R-Saks) confrontation with Rep. Matt Gaetz on the House floor, most members of the Alabama congressional delegation celebrated McCarthy’s victory.

Every Republican member of Alabama’s Congressional delegation voted for McCarthy in all 15 ballots.

Rogers said he was happy to see McCarthy win.

Rep. Barry Moore (R-Enterprise) also congratulated the new leader in a press release.

“With this vote complete,” said Moore, “House Republicans will get to work using the power of the purse and our Constitutional oversight authority to hold the Biden administration accountable and fight its radical agenda.”

Moore added that the negotiations between different GOP members resulted in some much needed reforms for Congress.

“For me and my conservative colleagues,” he continued, “this vote was less about individual personalities than taking advantage of an historic opportunity to negotiate much-needed rules changes to ensure every congressman, regardless of political ideology, can provide more input to the legislative process and therefore more effectively represent the people of their district. With the rules changes we negotiated, individual legislators will possess the ability and responsibility to offer and vote on amendments and to write bills in committees. With more direct input into the workings of the House where they serve, elected legislators will be more accountable to the voters, and I am hopeful the House will function more effectively and as our Constitutional framers intended.”

Reps. Jerry Carl (R-Mobile) responded to the final vote by emphasizing that the party is “united” behind McCarthy as the leader.

Rep. Dale Strong (R-Huntsville) also said the party was “unified” in support of the new Speaker.

“I believe that a unified majority is necessary to best serve the American people,” said Strong in a press release. “I am pleased that the House can now focus on the enormous challenges facing our country. I look forward to working with my colleagues in Congress to deliver results for the people of North Alabama and focus on the job you sent me to Washington to do.”

Both Reps. Gary Palmer (R-Hoover) and Robert Aderholt (R-Haleyville) congratulated McCarthy and said it’s time to “get to work.”

Rep. Terri Sewell (D-Birmingham), the lone Democrat member of Congress in Alabama, voted for Rep. Hakeem Jefferies (D-N.Y.) for Speaker.

She reacted to the vote by saying McCarthy was only able to win as a result of Republicans “suppressing the vote of 6 members!”

Yaffee is a contributing writer to Yellowhammer News and hosts “The Yaffee Program” weekdays 9-11 a.m. on WVNN. You can follow him on Twitter @Yaffee

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.