74.3 F
75.7 F
75.2 F
72.2 F

Here’s how Alabama’s U.S. House delegation voted on Trump-supported $2K relief payments

The U.S. House of Representatives on Monday evening passed a bill that would increase the latest round of direct COVID-19 relief payments to the American people. The vote was 275-134.

The CASH Act would up the stimulus checks from $600 to $2,000 per eligible adult. This proposal has been championed in recent days by President Donald J. Trump.

From Alabama, the only members of Congress who voted for the bill were U.S. Reps. Robert Aderholt (AL-04) and Terri Sewell (AL-07).

The dean of Alabama’s House delegation, Aderholt, said in a statement, “I voted to support President Trump’s efforts to get additional COVID-19 relief directly to those who need it, and can be the best stewards of how to spend it.”

“Let me be clear, I have deep concerns about our national debt, and this is why I also support President Trump’s directive to Congress that we look at places to cut spending from the 2021 Federal Budget,” he continued. “We must reign in spending. However, there are many people in the 4th Congressional District, and in other parts of the nation, who are hurting right now. I had much rather give money directly to the people who need it most, than give it to states like New York in the form of a bailout, when they had not managed their finances well before the pandemic.”

U.S. Rep. Mo Brooks (AL-05) voted against the legislation, as he had previewed earlier in the day.

RELATED: Brooks blasts Trump’s proposed $2,000 relief payments — ‘Show me how we’re going to pay for it’

In a tweet following the vote, Brooks emphasized his position on the issue.

Also voting against the CASH Act were U.S. Reps. Bradley Byrne (AL-01), Martha Roby (AL-02), Mike Rogers (AL-03) and Gary Palmer (AL-06).

The legislation’s fate is uncertain in the Senate.

Sean Ross is the editor of Yellowhammer News. You can follow him on Twitter @sean_yhn

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.