79.3 F
74.9 F
75.5 F
75.4 F

ASU Hornets’ Eddie Robinson Jr. named finalist for Black College Football Hall of Fame

Alabama State University head football coach and former player, Eddie Robinson Jr., is now a finalist for induction into the Black College Football Hall of Fame.

Robinson, who played 11 years in the NFL, was chosen from a group of more than 200 possible inductees from across the country by committee made up of nine notable journalists, commentators historians, past NFL managers, and NFL executives.

Leadership from the Hall of Fame discussed the selection of the 23 finalists.

“We would like to congratulate the Class of 2024 Finalists,” said Doug Williams, Super Bowl XXII MVP, Chairman and Co-Founder of the Hall of Fame. “Each of these men represents the absolute best of Black College Football.”

During his time at ASU, Robinson Jr., earned All-SWAC honors and SWAC Defensive Player of the Year honors in 1990 and 1991, Sheridan Broadcasting Network All-America honors in 1990 and 1991. He  also received Defensive Player of the Year  in 1991 as a linebacker for the Hornets. In the NFL he recorded 850 tackles, 23 sacks, and six interceptions.

Finalists for the Hall of Fame this year are:

  • Joe “747” Adams (QB, Tennessee State University, 1977-1980)
  • Julius Adams (DE, Texas Southern University, 1967-1970)
  • George Atkinson (S, Morris Brown, 1965-1968)
  • Antoine Bethea, (DB, Howard University, 2002-2005)
  • Dwaine Board (DE, North Carolina A&T State University, 1975-1978)
  • Larry Brooks (DT, Virginia State University, 1969-1972)
  • Waymond Bryant (LB, Tennessee State University, 1970-1973)
  • Vince Buck (DB, Central State University, 1986-1989)
  • Kevin Dent (S, Jackson State University, 1985-1988)
  • Henry Dyer (RB, Grambling State University, 1963-1965)
  • Vernon Holland (OL, Tennessee State University, 1967-1970)
  • Richard Huntley (RB, Winston-Salem State University, 1992-1995)
  • Ezra Johnson (DL, Morris Brown University, 1973-1976)
  • Rashean Mathis (DB, Bethune-Cookman University, 1999-2002)
  • Jacquay Nunnally (WR, Florida A&M University, 1997-2000)
  • Lemar Parrish (RB, Lincoln University, 1966-1969)
  • Anthony Pleasant (DE, Tennessee State University, 1987-1990)
  • Tyrone Poole (DB, Fort Valley State University, 1991-1994)
  • Jake Reed (WR, Grambling State University, 1987-1990)
  • Eddie Robinson, Jr. (LB, Alabama State University, 1988-1991)
  • Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie (DB, Tennessee State University, 2004-2007)
  • John Thierry (DE, Alcorn State University, 1991-1993)

The Class of 2024 will be announced on December 14th, 2023. They will be recognized for the first time at the Allstate HBCU Legacy Bowl in New Orleans on February 24th, 2024 and honored during the 15th Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Saturday, June 8th, 2024 in Atlanta, Georgia.

Austen Shipley is a staff writer for Yellowhammer News.

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.