85.3 F
75.6 F
78.9 F
73.1 F

Alabama Republicans win all contested statewide, congressional races

Every Republican running in an Alabama congressional or statewide race in Tuesday’s 2020 general election won.

This included huge wins for President Donald J. Trump and Republican U.S. Senatorial nominee Tommy Tuberville.

In Alabama’s First Congressional District, Republican nominee Jerry Carl defeated Democrat James Averhart.
Former State Rep. Barry Moore (R-Enterprise) beat Democrat Phyllis Harvey-Hall in AL-02.

U.S. Rep. Mike Rogers (AL-03) won against Democratic challenger Adia Winfrey, while U.S. Rep. Robert Aderholt (AL-04) trounced Democrat Rick Neighbors.

U.S. Reps. Mo Brooks (AL-05), Gary Palmer (AL-06) and Terri Sewell (AL-07) were are all unopposed in their respective districts.

Another impressive electoral performance was Public Service Commission President Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh (R-AL) blowing out her Democratic challenger and barely trailing Trump’s statewide vote percentage.

Additionally, State Rep. Matt Fridy (R-Montevallo) was elected to the Court of Civil Appeals. Presiding Judge Mary Windom and Judge Beth Kellum were reelected to the Court of Criminal Appeals, while Judge Bill Thompson was reelected to the Court of Civil Appeals; Associate Justices Greg Shaw and Brad Mendheim were also elected to fresh terms on the Supreme Court of Alabama. All aforementioned judges are Republicans who ran in uncontested general election races.

After U.S. Senator Doug Jones’ (D-AL) defeat, there will be no statewide elected Democrats in the Yellowhammer State.

View all unofficial election results from the Alabama Secretary of State here.

Sean Ross is the editor of Yellowhammer News. You can follow him on Twitter @sean_yhn

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.