66.4 F
63.2 F
64.3 F
58.9 F

Alabama First Responders Association holds first annual awards dinner

The Alabama First Responders Association last week held its first annual awards dinner in Birmingham at the historic Fennec entertainment venue.

The dinner featured former White House advisor Sebastian Gorka as guest speaker. Attorney General Steve Marshall sent a welcome video message expressing appreciation to the responders for their service to their communities.

Angela McClure, Alabama First Responders Association executive director, spoke to the success of the association’s first awards dinner.

“Our event was very successful. We wanted this evening to be a celebration for First Responders and recognize them for their commitment to their job and their communities,” said McClure. “Dr. Gorka was an incredible speaker and he inspired so many of our first responders to continue saving lives and helping people.”

Association board member Brett Trimble expressed excitement over the association continuing to honor first responders in the future.

“We are proud of our award winners this evening,” stated Trimble. “These awards were well deserved and we look forward to presenting awards to outstanding first responders next year.”

The following were the 12 awards that were given at the awards dinner:

The Chief Justice Perry Hooper, Sr. Lifetime of Outstanding Service and Excellence in Leadership Award:

Sheriff Sid Lockhart, Chambers County

The Chief Justice Perry Hooper, Sr. Lifetime of Outstanding Service and Excellence in Law Enforcement Award:

Constable Jonathan Barbee, Jefferson County

Law Enforcement Officer of the Year

Deputy Danielle Eaton, Tuscaloosa County Sheriff’s Office

Firefighter of the Year

Clint Sills, Trussville Fire Department

EMT of the Year

Arwen McGauley, Blount EMT

Outstanding Community Service Award

Deputy William Nolen, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

Excellence in Law Enforcement and Community Service Award

Constable Robert Colvert, III, Jefferson County

Outstanding Community Service Award

Deputy Constable Joanne Sellers Barbee, Jefferson County

Lifetime of Service Memorial Award

Special Agent K-9 Faust, BNSF Railroad Police

Excellence in Law Enforcement Award

Senior Special Agent Bryan Schaffer, BNSF Railroad Police

Excellence in Community Service Award

Sheriff Mark Pettway, Jefferson County

Law Enforcement Agency of the Year

Trussville Police Department, Chief Eric Rush

Dylan Smith is a staff writer for Yellowhammer News. You can follow him on Twitter @DylanSmithAL

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.