76.6 F
74.7 F
72.7 F
77.6 F

‘Principled leadership’: Steve Marshall elected RAGA chair

During a meeting of the Republican Attorneys General Association (RAGA) this past weekend, Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall was elected to serve the body as chairman.

Marshall’s one-year term will begin immediately, according to a Sunday news release issued by RAGA.

In a statement on his election, Marshall expressed his honor in leading “the most consequential group of elected officials in our nation.”

“The legal work led by Republican attorneys general continues to be our nation’s last line of defense in the Biden Administration’s crusade against the Constitution and, most especially, conservative states,” said Marshall. “There is a reason that 28 of our country’s state attorneys general are Republican—we have been the steady defenders of public safety, first liberties, and self-governance. And rest assured, we have no plans of backing down.”

As previously outlined by Yellowhammer News, Marshall has been at the forefront in challenging the Biden administration in his capacity as Alabama’s chief law enforcement officer, especially as it relates to COVID-19 mandates and restrictions.

RAGA Executive Director Peter Bisbee hailed Marshall for demonstrating “principled leadership” and praised his legal efforts to combat federal overreach.

“Attorney General Marshall has been a consistent advocate for the Constitution and rule of law, aggressively leading some of our nation’s greatest legal challenges against the Biden Administration in recent years,” said Bisbee. “We’re grateful to have AG Marshall’s steadfast and principled leadership helming RAGA during this critical time when progressives in Washington, D.C. are waging an all-out assault on our system of government and way of life.”

Since President Biden took office, Republican attorneys general have filed 89 lawsuits, 15 motions to intervene, and 139 letters against the Administration, according to RAGA.

The following attorneys general serve on the RAGA Executive Committee:

  • Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall, chairman
  • Montana Attorney General Austin Knudsen, vice chairman
  • Florida Attorney General Ashley Moody
  • Indiana Attorney General Todd Rokita
  • Kentucky Attorney General Daniel Cameron
  • Louisiana Attorney General Jeff Landry
  • Mississippi Attorney General Lynn Fitch
  • Utah Attorney General Sean Reyes

Dylan Smith is the editor of Yellowhammer News. You can follow him on Twitter @DylanSmithAL

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.