59.5 F
45.5 F
51.5 F
32.4 F

Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame announces 12 inductees for 2020

The Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame on Wednesday announced it will induct 12 honorees later this year.

Founded in 1997, the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame recognizes a wide range healthcare professionals who have made outstanding contributions to, or rendered exemplary service for, healthcare in the state of Alabama.

The not-for-profit organization’s selection committee chooses 12 outstanding nominees for induction every two years. Past honorees include physicians, nurses, administrators, dentists, researchers and academic professionals.

The Class of 2020 shall include the following inductees, per a release:

Charles C. Butterworth, MD*
Cynthia Selleck, PhD, RN
Michael A. Callahan, MD
Sergio Stagno, MD
Joseph L. Fontenot, MD
Zack Studstill, DMD
Henry A Frazer, Pharm, MD
William Jefferson Terry, MD*
William Kendrick Hare, MD*
Celia A. Wallace
Howard W. Houser, PhD
Richard C. “Dickey” Whitaker
(*denotes posthumous honor)

Biographies for each honoree can be read here.

The Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame will officially induct the honorees at its 2020 awards luncheon on September 26 at the Alabama Activity Center in Montgomery.

Sean Ross is the editor of Yellowhammer News. You can follow him on Twitter @sean_yhn

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe today to have Alabama’s leading headlines delivered to your inbox.