72.5 F
67.3 F
69.7 F
57.3 F

AG Marshall: ‘Biden is holding schoolchildren’s food hostage’ over ‘radical gender ideology’

In May, the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Food and Nutrition Service under President Joe Biden announced that it would expand the definition of discrimination under Title IX to include sexual orientation and gender identity.

Responding to the Biden administration’s actions, Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall said in a press release, “From day one, Joe Biden and his administration have shown no compunction about forcing their radical agenda on all Americans.”

As a result of the expanded interpretation of Title IX, Marshall suggested that schools that didn’t comply with Biden’s gender ideology could lose funding for the National School Lunch Program.

“With this new guidance,” he added, “Biden has stooped to a new low — holding back vital federal nutritional assistance from schoolchildren during a time of skyrocketing food costs and dwindling supply — in a cynical ploy to further impose his administration’s extremist sexual politics on the people of our great nation. In effect, Biden is holding schoolchildren’s food hostage unless their schools submit to radical gender ideology. This ploy is both immoral and illegal and must be withdrawn.”

Marshall also joined 25 other attorneys general in a letter to President Biden, calling on him to rescind the USDA guidance.

The letter argues, “[T]he Guidance flouts the rule of law, relies on patently incorrect legal analysis that is currently under scrutiny in the federal courts, and was issued without giving the States the requisite opportunity to be heard. While we are always open to working with your Administration to resolve these matters, under the present circumstances we are constrained to ask that you direct Secretary Vilsack and the Department of Agriculture to rescind this Guidance.”

Marshall joined attorneys general from Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming in signing the letter to Biden on Tuesday.

Yaffee is a contributing writer to Yellowhammer News and hosts “The Yaffee Program” Weekdays 9-11am on WVNN. You can follow him on Twitter @Yaffee